Full results are available here:  Derek Walker 2018 Results

Preliminary report

What a truly awesome event. 21 tests on loose, tarmac and slippy concrete surfaces and the winners were Will Corry and Pete Moreland Moore once again. The familiar light blue Sprite was brought across the water, its current owner having generously allowed Will to use it for the Derek Walker Trial 2018. Congratulations to them both.

2nd overall was a hard charging Eamonn Byrne and Joanna Lenaghan in a relatively standard Starlet, showing what natural talent Eamonn has. 

3rd overall were Paul Mooney and Mark Bell in a Nova and 4th a terrific drive by Mark Francis in his MX5, accompanied by Adam Hilditch. 

Our sincerest thanks to all our landowners, notably Sam Lyle and Mervyn Williamson and to all our marshals who stood out in icy and wet conditions. Thanks also to our friends in the TSCC, UAC and the ADC who lent us their equipment and made this event possible.

Well done also to our competitors who supported our event in terrific numbers, reaching our maximum number of 70 cars.

Reports by competitors have been extremely positive, none more effusive that from our President, Mike Armstrong who was travelling as first car of the event and was accompanied by his grandson Zak in the well known MG TD.  Mike commented as follows:

“What a Fabulous Event !” The opening competition event of our Golden Jubilee was a resounding success. With a full entry of 70 cars and over 60 road miles and 21 tests – what a magnificent feat of organization. To EVERYONE involved in the many many hours of organization (you know who you are) and to all the marshals – landowners – ladies who provided a very welcome early morning breakfast – a HUGE CONGRATULATIONS and THANK YOU !!

The tests were all challenging – to me at least – but they all flowed and all competitors must have had a whale of a time. As, perhaps, the oldest car with the oldest driver and youngest navigator – WE HAD A BALL !!

The only flies were that we got a bit wet and cold and I now have to wash the car.


Mike Armstrong     President of the Ulster Centre M G Car Club”


Full results are available here:   Derek Walker 2018 Results