Origin of Ulster Centre Awards

A few words of explanation about the origins of the various Ulster Centre awards:

Enthusiast Trophy

This was one of our very first awards. It was donated in 1969 by the North-East Centre of the MG Car Club, then under the Chairmanship of Dr Jack Armstrong, an Ulsterman who, with fellow Ulsterman Wilson McComb, encouraged the formation of the Ulster Centre. Originally decided on a points system, the winner is now chosen by the Committee. In recent years it was decided that since there was a Lady Enthusiast Trophy, only the Gentlemen would in future be eligible for the Enthusiast Trophy.

Lady Enthusiast Trophy

This was donated by Barbara and Roger Nethercot, early members of the Ulster Centre who emigrated to Canada. Like the Enthusiast Trophy, it was originally awarded on a points system, but the winner is now chosen by the Committee.

Marshal Award

The Ulster Centre provided this award and it is awarded by the Committee to the member who has contributed the most to marshalling at events.

Junior Marshal Award

Made and given to the Ulster Centre by Noel Cochrane to involve the younger members in the sport. Determined by attendance during the year.

Achilles Trophy

Made by Bill Sherwood, one of the founding members of the Ulster Centre, from a piston and con-rod (supplied by the late Nick Murray of Omagh) which had escaped from an XPAG T Type engine. The 'winner' is decided by the Committee who award it to the member who has had the most 'unfortunate' problem during the year.

Driver of the Year Award

Thought to have been produced and donated by Derek Walker. Presented by the Committee to a driver, or team, considered to have had an outstanding year.

Abingdon Trophy

Donated in 2015 by the Main Club and awarded by the Committee for 'Commitment to the Ulster Centre'.

Adrian Watters Trophy

Donated by the Reid family in memory of Adrian Watters and is to be presented to our Young Driver of the Year - a Committee decision.

MGB/C/V8 Trophy

Donated by the MGB/C/V8 Championship after our 20th Anniversary Festival. It was originally a race award but as we no longer race as a Centre it is presented to the highest placed MG B/C/V8 driver in the autotest championship.

Production Car Trial Cup

This was donated to us 'anonymously' in 1970 by the late Karl Murray and his wife Margaret. Karl, who died in 2004, was Honorary Secretary of the Ulster Centre in 1970 and 1971 and Chairman in 1973 and 1974.

MG Race Cup

An Ulster Centre award presented annually to the most successful racing driver in an MG.

Leslie Ardill Trophy

Leslie Ardill was Chairman in 1975 and 1976 and after his death in 1977 this trophy, a piece of Tyrone Crystal with a picture of a TC etched on it and mounted on a piece of polished Mourne granite, was created in his memory. Unlike other awards which are given to the individual, the Leslie Ardill Trophy is awarded to the car, a sort of 'Car Of The Year' award. There is a complicated points system for awarding it.

John Trimble Trophy

Awarded to the overall winner of The MG Ulster Classic Trial in memory of John Trimble who loved the classic events in which he competed with his TF.

Derek Walker Salver

This was originally donated to the Centre by The Royal Insurance Company who sponsored the original Classic Trial before it became the Derek Walker Classic Trial in 1996.

Alan Clarke Rose Bowl

Donated by Alan Clarke to be presented for the highest placed pre-1955 car on the Derek Walker Classic Trial.

Leslie Porter Trophy

Along with the Enthusiast Trophy this was also one of our first awards. It was donated to the Ulster Centre in 1969 by Archie Phillips, Managing Director of Leslie Porter in York Street, Belfast, who were the main MG agent and supplier in Northern Ireland at that time. It is awarded to the highest placed MG in the autotest championship.

Vivian Scott Trophy

Vivian Scott was also one of the founding members of the Ulster Centre. Active behind the scenes, but never keen to take Office, he donated this trophy to the Ulster Centre to be awarded to the highest placed non-MG in the autotest championship. Vivian died in 1985.

Concours Cup

Maybe later called 'Pride of Ownership Cup' but now missing. Thought to have been donated in the early 1970s by Karl Murray for the Annual Concours which was often held at one of the BBQs.

Junior Enthusiast Shield

Donated by Mike and Jenny Armstrong. Now missing having been unofficially retained by a previous winner but a replacement has been offered. Now all we need are some 'Junior Enthusiasts'.